Home Page


Meet the Governors

Meet the Governors 1 Mr Ben Whiting -Acting Chair of Governors (Parent)
Meet the Governors 2 Mrs Johanna Slack - Headteacher
Meet the Governors 3 Mr Dan Savage - Parent Governor
Meet the Governors 4 Cllr Chris Steward - Local Authority Governor
Meet the Governors 5 Mr Peter Warden - Community Governor
Meet the Governors 6 Miss Kirsty Elcock - Staff Governor
Meet the Governors 7 Mrs Liz Raspa - Parent Governor
Meet the Governors 8 Sarah Hunter-White

At Rufforth Primary we have 12 governors (currently 3 vacancies) who make up the Governing Body. There are 3 parent governors, 4  community governors, 1  appointed by the local authority and 2 staff governors (Headteacher and 1 staff member). Our Governing Body is accountable both to the local authority  which gives vital support through its oversight of education in the City of York, and also to the Department for Education which requires us to focus on three core functions:


1) Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction

2) Holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school   and its pupils

3) Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent


As a Full Governing Body we meet twice a term with the headteacher.  Our meetings deal with finance and staffing; curriculum; premises, health and safety; and pay. Above all our school aims to provide high quality teaching in a happy, safe, and supportive learning environment, summed up in the words


‘ Excellence in a family atmosphere’


As governors, we are always keen to hear from parents with questions, concerns or compliments.


I hope this has given you an insight into the role of governors here at Rufforth Primary.


With warm good wishes


Pam Edwards

Chair of Governors

Governing Committee Links